Click HERE to download a .pdf version of Professor Crooks’ Full Vita

Condensed CV

Robert A. Welch Chair in Materials Chemistry
The University of Texas at Austin

Department of Chemistry
The University of Texas at Austin
100 E. 24th St., Stop A5300
Austin, TX 78712
Voice: 512-475-8674

Internet: crooks@cm.

Graduate: The University of Texas at Austin, Ph.D., 1987
Research Advisor: Dr. Allen J. Bard
Specialization: Electrochemistry

Undergraduate: The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, B.S., 1981
Research Advisor: Dr. Larry R. Faulkner
Specialization: Electrochemistry

The University of Texas at Austin
-Robert A. Welch Chair in Materials Chemistry: 2009 - present
-William H. Wade Professor of Chemistry: 2008-2009
-Professor of Chemistry: 2005 – 2008

Texas A&M University
-Professor of Chemistry: 1997 – 2005
-Professor of Chemical Engineering: 2003 – 2005
-Founding Director, Materials Characterization Facility: 2000 - 2005
-Associate Professor of Chemistry: 1993 – 1997

University of New Mexico
-Assistant Professor of Chemistry: 1989 – 1993

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
-Postdoctoral Associate: 1987 – 1989

Co-founder, Galvanyx, LLC (2020)
Completed National NSF I-Corps program (2016)
Chairman, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2008 – 2010)
Co-founder, UT-Austin Center for Electrochemistry (2006)
Co-founder, UT-Austin Freshman Research Initiative (2005)
Founder, Gordon Research Seminars for students and postdocs (2005)
Co-founder and member of the board of directors: Eclipse Sciences, Inc. (2003)
Founder, Texas A&M University Materials Characterization Facility (2000)
Sabbatical appointment: ACLARA Biosciences, Mountain View, CA (2000)

Chemical and biological sensors
Integrated microfluidic systems
Physical electrochemistry
Catalysis and electrocatalysis

Significant Awards
• Eastern Analytical Symposium Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry (2022)
• Faraday Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2015)
• Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award (2014)
• World Technology Award (Environment Category), Finalist (2013)
• C. N. Reilley Award of the Society of Electroanalytical Chemistry (2010)
• ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Electrochemistry (2008)
• Carl Wagner Memorial Award of the Electrochemical Society (2003)
• National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award (1993)
• Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award (1991)
• Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh Starter Grant Award (1990)
• Gilbert H. Ayres Award, The University of Texas at Austin (1984)

Offices Held in Professional Societies
• Vice Chairman, Sensor Division, Electrochemical Society (2000-2002)
• Secretary/Treasurer, Sensor Division, Electrochemical Society (1998-2000)
• Executive Committee, Sensor Division, Electrochemical Society (1996-1998)
• Board Member, Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry (1996-2001)
• Awards Committee Chair, Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry (1998 - 2002)

Editorial Activities
• Executive Editor, Langmuir, ACS (January 2015 – 2019)
• Co-Guest Editor, Langmuir, special issue on "Fundamental Interfacial Science for Energy Applications", 2016-2017 (with Debra Rolison and Keith Stevenson)
• Senior Editor, Langmuir, ACS (January 2004 - 2014)
• Editorial Advisory Board Member, Analytical Chemistry, ACS (2011-2013)
• Editorial Advisory Board Member, Catalysis Science and Technology, RSC (2010 - present)
• Editorial Committee Member, Annual Review of Analytical Chemistry (2006-2012)
• Co-Guest Editor, Langmuir, special issue on Electrochemistry, December, 2006 (with Allen J. Bard)
• News and Features Advisory Panel, Analytical Chemistry, January, 2004 – December, 2006)
• Editorial Board, Langmuir, January, 2000- December, 2003
• Editorial Board, Advanced Functional Materials, January, 2001- December, 2003.
• Editorial Board, Sensor Update, 1998-2008.
• Co-Guest Editor, Acc. Chem. Res., special issue on Chemical Sensors, May, 1998 (with Antonio J. Ricco)
• Co-Guest Editor, J. Phys. Chem., special Festscrift issue honoring Prof. Allen J. Bard, December, 1998 (with Henry S. White)
• Co-Section Editor, Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry (with Henry S. White)

Significant Administrative Positions
• Chair, UT-Austin Department of Chemistry promotion and tenure committee (2013- 2016 and 2018-present)
• Chair, UT-Austin Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2008 – 2010)
• Founding Director, TAMU Center for Integrated Microchemical Systems (2001-2005)
• Director of Graduate Studies, TAMU Chemistry Department (1996-1999)

Significant Advisory Positions
• University of Toronto, Department of Chemistry, committee of visitors (2018)
• DOE Basic Research Needs for Future Nuclear Energy Workshop, participant (2017)
• DOE Workshop on Nitrogen Activation, co-organizer (2016)
• NSF Workshop on Papertronics, participant (2016)
• Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Bright Ion Source Workshop external participant (2015).
• University of Texas-El Paso NSF PREM external advisory board (2012-2016).
• Arizona State University, Department of Chemistry, committee of visitors (2013).
• NSF Division of Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental, & Transport Systems (CBET) committee of visitors (2012).
• DOE Council for Chemical and Biochemical Sciences (2011-2015).
• NIH NIBIB Nanotechnology Review Panel (January, 2010).
• Molecular Stamping, SAB (2008 – present).
• University of Illinois Science & Technology Center, External Advisory Board (2006-2011).
• ACS Board-Presidential Task Force on the Multidisciplinarity of Chemistry (2004-2005).